Compare VR headsets
More actions
Compare VR headsets lets you inspect specifications from the device articles side by side. Choose two or three models and the fields to display, or open the complete tables. Follow each model's article for sources, test conditions and product history.
Selected VR headsets
Prices may describe launch pricing or a later offer; currency, region, date and storage configuration matter. The resolution column gives per-eye pixel dimensions where recorded; Apple publishes a combined display-pixel total instead. Field-of-view angles are comparable only when they use the same axis. Weight may include a strap or an external battery. A blank field means that the comparison has no recorded value, not that the feature is absent. The original Apple Vision Pro and the M5 model have separate articles.
| Headset | Subtype | Release or reservation date | Price and configuration (see date in article) | Chipset or external host | Display | Display resolution (per eye unless stated) | Refresh Rate | Field of view (axis as stated) | Weight and configuration |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple Vision Pro | Standalone VR | February 2, 2024 (U.S.); June 28, 2024 (China mainland, Hong Kong, Japan, Singapore); July 12, 2024 (Australia, Canada, France, Germany, UK) | US$3,499 (256 GB), US$3,699 (512 GB), US$3,899 (1 TB); U.S. launch prices, February 2024 | Apple M2 and Apple R1 | Dual Micro-OLED | 23 million pixels across both displays (Apple specification) | 90Hz, 96Hz, 100Hz | Not specified in Apple's technical specifications | 600-650 g with Light Seal and head band (varies by configuration); separate battery: 353 g |
| Apple Vision Pro M5 | Standalone VR | October 22, 2025 (initial markets, including the U.S.) | US$3,699 (256 GB), US$3,899 (512 GB), US$4,199 (1 TB); U.S. listed prices checked September 17, 2026 | Apple M5 + Apple R1 | 2× Micro-OLED | 23 million pixels across both displays (Apple specification) | 90 Hz, 96 Hz, 100 Hz, 120 Hz | Not specified in Apple's technical specifications | 750-800 g with Light Seal and Dual Knit Band (varies by configuration); separate battery: 353 g |
| Meta Quest 3 | Standalone VR | October 10, 2023 | US$599.99 (512 GB; checked September 17, 2026) | Qualcomm Snapdragon XR2 Gen 2 | LCD | 2064 × 2208 per eye | 72/90/120 Hz advertised; extended modes described below | 110° horizontal, 96° vertical (specified) | 515 g (manufacturer specification) |
| Meta Quest 3S | Standalone VR | October 15, 2024 | US$349.99 (128 GB), US$449.99 (256 GB); U.S. listed prices checked September 17, 2026 | Qualcomm Snapdragon XR2 Gen 2 | Single LCD | 1832 x 1920 pixels per eye | 72 Hz, 90 Hz, 120 Hz | 96 degrees horizontal; 90 degrees vertical | 514g (with headstrap) |
| PlayStation VR2 | PC-Powered VR Console-Powered VR | February 22, 2023 | US$399.99 / £399.99 / €449.99 (recommended retail prices announced for March 2025) | External PS5 or compatible PC (PC adapter required) | OLED | 2000 x 2040 pixels per eye | 90Hz, 120Hz | Approximately 110 degrees (axis not specified by Sony) | Approximately 560 g (headset, excluding cables); approximately 168 g per controller |
| Samsung Galaxy XR | Mixed Reality Standalone VR | October 21, 2025 (U.S.); October 22, 2025 (South Korea); July 8, 2026 (U.K.) | US$1,799.99 (256 GB; U.S. launch price, October 2025; controllers sold separately); £1,699 (U.K. RRP, July 2026) | Qualcomm Snapdragon XR2+ Gen 2 | Dual micro-OLED | 3,552 x 3,840 pixels per eye (approx. 27 megapixels combined) | 60 Hz, 72 Hz (default), 90 Hz maximum (upon service request) | 109 degrees horizontal; 100 degrees vertical | 545 g with forehead cushion, excluding light shield and cushion size adjusters; separate battery: 302 g |
| Steam Frame | Standalone VR PC-Powered VR | Reservations opened 14 September 2026; purchase invitations from 18 September 2026 | US$1,059 (256 GB kit); US$1,299 (1 TB kit) (United States launch prices) | Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 | Two LCD panels | 2160 x 2160 per eye | 72-144 Hz (144 Hz experimental) | Up to 110 degrees | 440 g complete headset; 185 g core; 245 g headstrap |
AR and smart glasses
Some smart glasses have no visual display. Compare display capabilities and supported uses before comparing numerical specifications.
| Glasses | Type | Release or reservation date | Price and configuration (see date in article) | Display | Field of view (axis as stated) | Battery Life | Weight and configuration |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Even Realities G1 | Smart glasses | 2024 | $599 (glasses), $749 (with Rx lenses) at launch; no longer sold (September 2026) | Dual rectangular waveguide | 25° | Up to 1.5 days | 44g |
| Meta Ray-Ban Display | Augmented reality glasses | September 30, 2025 (United States, in-store); September 23, 2026 (Canada, United Kingdom; US online ordering); pre-orders from September 23, 2026 with availability scheduled for October 13, 2026 (France, Germany, Italy) | $799 USD (includes glasses and Meta Neural Band), $999 USD with prescription; £749 (UK), CA$1,149 (Canada), €899 (France, Germany, Italy) | Monocular micro-display with reflective geometric waveguide and LCOS micro-projector (right lens only) | 20 degrees | 6 hours mixed use (glasses), 18 hours (Meta Neural Band) | 69g (standard), 70g (large); Meta Neural Band: 42g |
| Ray-Ban Meta | Smart glasses | October 17, 2023 | Starting at $299 USD | None (audio and AI only, no visual overlay) | Up to 4 hours mixed use (glasses); up to 36 hours with charging case | 48.6 g to 50.8 g (varies by style) | |
| Rokid Glasses | Smart glasses | September 1, 2025 (China); November 2025 (international) | US$599 at international launch ($479 Kickstarter early-bird); US$699 regular price on Rokid's global store (September 2026); CNY 3,299 (China) | Waveguide (diffraction) | 49g | ||
| Xreal One Pro | Augmented reality glasses | Pre-order deliveries in 2025; general availability from 1 July 2025 (United States) | US$599 / GBP 549 / EUR 649 (pre-order, December 2024); US$649 (from 1 July 2025); US$599 (from April 2026) | Sony 0.55-inch Micro-OLED | 57 degrees | 87 g |